B Pentatonic Minor Guitar Scale - Left Handed Pattern Diagrams

The word "pentatonic" derives from Greek; "pente" meaning five and "tonic" meaning tone. As you guessed, the B Pentatonic Minor pentatonic scale consists of five tones or notes.

In general, the Pentatonic scale is very easy to learn and is often the first scale a beginner guitarist will learn.

The B Pentatonic Minor scale formula is

1 - b3 - 4 - 5 - b7

These notes are as follows

B - D - E - F# - A

The B Pentatonic Minor step intervals are

3 - 2 - 2 - 3 - 2

The 5 Patterns of the B Pentatonic Minor Scale

A pattern is a set of notes that are played one after the other. There are five different patterns that can be played in B Pentatonic Minor, each of which are inter-connected across the fretboard.

The notes of the scale are displayed on the fretboard by the light grey circles, with the darker blue circles highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always B tones. The numbers on each circle indicate which finger should play the note. The patterns are as follows

Pattern 1

B Pentatonic Minor Scale 7th Position

Pattern 2

B Pentatonic Minor Scale 9th Position

Pattern 3

B Pentatonic Minor Scale 11th Position

Pattern 4

B Pentatonic Minor Scale 2nd Position

Pattern 5

B Pentatonic Minor Scale 4rd Postion

Related Scales